Custom Branding

Braneen Sales and Marketing


The National Flag of the Philippines is a horizontal flag bicolor with equal bands of royal blue and scarlet red, and with a white equilateral triangle at the hoist; in the centre of the triangle is a golden yellow sun with eight primary rays, which represent the country's first group of provinces that started the 1896 Philippine Revolution against Spain; and at each vertex of the triangle is a five-pointed golden yellow star, each of which represent the country's 3 main regions - Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

The white equilateral triangle, symbolizes equality and fraternity; the horizontal blue stripe represents peace, truth, and justice and the horizontal red stripe stands for patriotism and valor. The eight-rayed golden sun symbolizes unity, freedom, people's democracy, and sovereignty. Each ray represents one of the first eight provinces that started the 1896 Philippine Revolution against Spain. Three five-pointed stars, one for each of the triangle's points, stand for the three major geographical island groups that comprise the Philippines: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.

The symbolism given in the 1898 Proclamation of Philippine Independence differs from the current official explanation. According to the document the white triangle signifies the emblem of the Katipunan, the secret society that opposed Spanish rule. It says the flag's colours commemorate the flag of the United States as a manifestation of gratitude for American protection against the Spanish during the Philippine Revolution. It also says that one of the three stars represents the island of Panay, rather than the entire Visayan islands. The proclamation also declares that the sun represents the gigantic steps made by the sons of the country along the path of Progress and Civilization, and lists Bataan instead of Tarlac among the eight provinces symbolized by the sun's rays.

The Flag Emporium